Fall chasing...

This is my first year chasing so I am curious about the fall prospects.

Is it worth camping out on the plains in the fall for some Tornado viewing or should I just wait, and wait and wait till spring ?

My job allows quite a bit of flexibility and commuting to the plains is more expensive than just spending a week or two out there.

I thought there was a fall maximum of Tornado occurance but I can not find the statistics.

Opinions ??
Sept, Oct, Nov ??
KS, OK, NE ??

October can be very rewarding in the southern plains and other areas. But it's nearly impossible to say in advance when one should choose vacation time. The tornado climatology isn't as definitive as spring, when the last week of May and the first week of June are relatively safe bets annually. You have to be prepared for whenever an October chase may pop up, and if you live far away (like me for a little while longer) it's tough.

As for this October, I don't think there's any way to know. I've asked several chasers and people seem to have a strong hunch that we'll see a few good chases. That may come as much from last October's having been so dead as anything else, but it's still worth noting. I expect to see some supercells this October, and with a little luck, something more.

I can't wait for late Sept-early Oct. There are almost always a few chaseable days - but as Amos mentioned, it's unpredictable. It's the kind of thing that makes it pay off to live here, but difficult to judge whether a person should take time off and come for a vacation.

Had a nice taste last night with a few cells that came up - enough structure to spark a few tornado dreams when I slept last night. Very cool.

I'm hoping for an active fall -