04/29/05 FCST: OK/MO/AR/IL/KY/TN

Edit at 10:07AM CDT - 4/26 : Changed subject line

I know this is still very far away, but the GFS has been pretty consistent with showing a really deep upper level Low Pressure system that will be moving somewhere through the Plains States or nearby during the day on Friday. Looking at the 18Z GFS, there is an upper level Low Pressure (under 996mb) centered at the Colorado/Kansas border at 0Z Saturday. The GFS also shows a wide swath of precipitation breaking out to the north and east of the Low Pressure. I feel that there could be a chance of severe weather coming into the central and southern Plains during that day, but my confidence is still lacking because from what I have seen on the 12Z GFS on UCAR, moisture return could be a problem with this system (as temperatures in Kansas will maintain around 65-70 all week, Oklahoma in the lower 70s), but I am still new to forecasting and still not that much in the know abou moisture return. The system right now looks really potent, and could add up to some severe weather in the Plains states during the end of next week. Storms could linger into the day on Saturday, April 30th, but that will be found on a seperate forecast thread, but it appears by the 18Z GFS that the Low pressure will track through the Sunflower State or like in previous runs, through the northern and central portions of Oklahoma. It is still very far out for a forecast for Saturday as the GFS has not been consistent with keeping a set location.

Graphic for this forecast can be found on my "Chase Forecasts" link on my signature line,