CAPE values during all four seasons of the year

STurner

EF2
I have a few questions about CAPE and how it is variable for a tornado outbreak during different times of the year. I know what CAPE stands for and what it means but why you may need some during the fall/winter but a lot during late spring or summer. This is also if you have all the other ingredients that come into play for a tornado outbreak. For instance I believe the Super Tuesday outbreak had CAPE values around 1000-1500J/kg but during the later spring CAPE values ranged from 2000-3000J/kg+. I was wondering if it may be during the winter that the atmosphere is not adapted to warm temperatures, 60 degree dewpoints and moderate instability. On the other hand during the late spring you would want higher values. Just want to know for I am still learning about ingredients needed for a tornado outbreak. Also good luck to those of you who will chase on the 26th. I hope it pans out for I like to watch tornado outbreaks online or TWC.

I think I can answer your question, but I'm not quite sure as to what you're asking and if I'm qualified to answer it.

First of all, there is no "required" value of CAPE in order for tornadic supercells to form. It just happens in the spring that you have more low level moisture and higher temperatures which lends to higher CAPE values. Although you can have supercells form in low CAPE environments, >1500 J/Kg of CAPE is ideal.

CAPE values are lower in winter/fall setups because there's less energy available in the atmosphere. Temperatures are cooler at the surface and thus temperatures in the upper parts of the atmosphere have to be cooler in order to have higher CAPE values.

I hope this answers your question(s).

BTW, I wouldn't hold your breath on a tornado outbreak on the 26th. I haven't look at the models and such but from what I've read, it's not going to be a huge tornado event.