Photo Tips / Pointers from the Pros

Cstok

EF4
Well, I finally plunked down the cash and got the Canon Rebel XT with the 17 - 85 Lens. I am fairly new at photography (at this level) and wanted to know what you all recommend for shooting storms / storm structure / tornados etc.... as it pertains to ISO / Wide vs. Tele / Custom setups on the camera etc.. etc.. (whether Canon or not, just general tips).

I will have a few weeks to get myself up to speed, but I would hate to get out during my chase vacation, and use the first few days to make mistakes with the setup... I only have 10 days, so I gotta make all the pix count!!

Since you are just starting out, I wouldn't recommend slide film. Print Film is much more forgiving as far as exposure mistakes go.

Film. Fuji seems to be the better films for print. ISO 100 to 400 works pretty well. ISO 400 is a good "all around" film speed to use. I don't know much about the ISO 800 films as I never did use them.

Tripod! You must get a tripod. When using the slower shutter speeds, a tripod is a must! Follow the rule of thirds when composing the shot. Here's a link that helps illustrate that rule: http://tlc.ousd.k12.ca.us/~acody/digi4.html

Basically what you are doing is classified as "Landscape Photography". Do a Google (or your favorite search engine) search on that subject and you will find loads of information.

For the fast easy answers, tehre you go. Aaron Kennedy does a very nice job with his photos as do others on the site. Hopefully they'll pipe in here and give some other nice Pointers.

cstok, isn't the Rebel XT a digital camera? (and a pretty nice one at that!) :wink: The 17-85mm (IS?) lens gets pretty darn good reviews if you don't need full-frame EOS, so you should be ok there, too!

Get yourself ample CF card storage, an extra battery you keep charged, and shoot RAW. Be careful of getting the camera wet. Hasn't happened to us yet (a 10D), but I understand the Canons are rather sensitive to moisture.