Canon EOS Rebel vs. D20

Jay McCoy

EF5
I am going to be buying a new camera for next season and need some advice from experienced shooters.

I am a novice when it comes to photography. I have been looking at the EOS Rebel 6.3 as a good camera for what I plan on. I have read the posts about the D20 and even though it has better resolution it is much more expensive. I have found the 6.3 Rebel on Ebay with the 18-55 lens for $600. The D20 is closer to $1500.

My main question is does anybody have experience with the Rebel 6.3 and how was that experience. Also will the 18-55 meet most of my needs or will I also need the 40mm?

keep in mind I am stepping up from a 2.0 megapixel fuji (basic digital POS) :lol:

If you are new to DSLR's the digital rebel will probably be better for you. A bit less of a learning curve, unless you are willing to put a bunch of time into learning the in-outs-and-inbetweens of the 20D and post processing. The 18-55mm lens MAY suit your needs. Reviews on the lens are mixed. At anyrate, if you want full potential of your new camera... pick up a cheap prime such as the 50mm f/1.8 or 35mm f/2. These are very sharp lenses for a resonable price. They will not limit what your camera's sensor is capable of.

Aaron

I've got the Rebel. I love that thing. About the only beef I have with it is that some of the controls take some menu diving to get to, which is not all that much fun when shooting (especially if it's dark). I really don't know if the D20 has an advantage in that respect.