5/21/05: FCST KS

Cstok

EF4
Ok.. I am fairly new at this, but here goes:

I am kind of liking the setup for Sat evening across North East Kansas.

00Z Sun. Eta is showing nice 3000+ CAPE for North East KS. Also moisture shouldn't be a problem as 60+ dew points are fcst. Helicity values are high as well looking at the 00Z Sun Eta. Looks like a cold front pushes through Sat. evening through Sun. morning for that area.

Ok... let the tomatos fly.

I am kind of liking this little setup(and perhaps Friday). The 850 temps are VERY warm and may be too much but who knows. I like a strong cap and strong heating, with nice turning. The real cold front should still be up in the Dakotas. If that second sfc low forms in KS there might be enough convergence and heating to get something up in that. Anymore all I want to see is nice turning and instability...and of course a boundary. The cap can do what it will do. I'm excited for at least Saturday and maybe Friday.

I am also liking what I am seeing for the day on Saturday for the area of Kansas from say Manhattan, through Topeka, to Fort Scott. Sure the strong cap is there and evident in the 850mb temps and CIN maps, but like last Tuesday, this may pave the way for a nice isolated supercell that will be able to drop a few tornadoes.

Looks like if anything can form and break the cap, the cell would have some rocking instability with SBCAPE of over 4000 J/Kg to work with, along with a plentiful supply of moisture with Td's running near 75 degrees. With pretty decent upper level support, potential is there for long-lived cells. While the GFS is not even showing anything for Saturday, this is something worth watching for a potential local chase.