2021-04-24 EVENT: AL/FL/GA/SC

I hope I'm doing this correctly, this is my first time posting one of these, but far from my first time with severe weather. SPC has a 15% risk across the southern area of this region. The NAM, and now NAM 3km (at the end of its range) is showing very high SigTor values across southern Alabama and Georgia throughout Saturday. Attached is a NAM3km sounding from 20 miles NNW of Tuskegee, AL. I believe there is still some uncertainty with moisture return however.

Attachments

• 2021042206_NAMNST_060_32.73,-85.79_severe_ml.png
    2021042206_NAMNST_060_32.73,-85.79_severe_ml.png
    194 KB · Views: 0
That's a good first Target Area post. I'm also surprised the NAM has healthy EHI values; I use those more than other blended indices.

I thought the low levels look too veered off eyeballing constant pressure and/or sounding forecasts. Apparently the SRH forecast is enough. Also concerned morning MCS stabilizes things. However, in late April the atmo can recover. CAPE forecast is bullish.

For North Georgia of course the obligatory southern Apps wedge front will be around. Should intersect with the synoptic trough somewhere in the North Georgia mountains. If not the ATL metro. Oh none of that sounds like good chasing, haha!

Meanwhile the NAM is teasing me with what would be low-topped good visibility cells right around Chattanooga. We lack CAPE up here due to the Georgia MCS. If the wedge front lifts this far north, SRH will be quite good despite otherwise veered off low levels. Frankly, I don't believe the NAM for Tenn. However at least I know good spots close to home for viewing things.

In a nutshell I have no storm chasing plans Saturday. We'll see where the data takes us. ARWs in rage next run I believe.