Seeking opinions on GPS

I'm looking for a little GPS unit to take along with me during my long trips. I have the tendancy to travel all over the state for work and training, so I figure nows as good as any time to buy a GPS unit.

I've noticed pricing goes from ~$300, to suddenly up to the $1,000 range. While I love gadgets and traveling, $1,000 is slightly undoable. ;)

I'm very interested in the Garmin V (since I have oodles of certificates to Best Buy) and am seeking opinions on it. How is the screen at night? Any major problems associated with it? Alternatives if ya don't like the Garmin? I'm new to the whole GPS thing and am just getting into it; so forgive for any silly questions.

Thanks! :)

What about an Earthmate GPS with mapping software for your laptop (if you have one). Or were you looking strictly at something handheld and portable?

I'd perfer a handheld/dash mount one seperate of a laptop. While I've got a laptop I drag all over the place, I'd perfer not to mount it up in my vehicle for day to day usage.

Magellan Sportrak Color

I bought a Magellan Sportrak Color on E-Bay late last summer. I sucessfully used it on a trip to Colorado over the Labor Day weekend. I had no problems in finding our hotels, where my sister lived, etc. I even had fun in marking waypoints and noting how high we were, etc.

I loved the MAPS program that I bought along with the GPS. It put oddles and oddles of places on the GPS maps as to where to find hotels, eating places, and tourist attractions, etc.

I bought a GPS holder that I somehow wedged it in the ashtray of my car and it was handy when I was driving down the Interstate and I wanted to know how far away is my next exit, etc.

Since the Labor Day trip, I've used it mostly for my geocaching stuff. But I will be using it for my trip to Omaha next weekend for a family wedding. I have the church and the hotel all marked and ready to find.