Laptop Recommendations?

Hey Stormtrackers!

It's time for me to begin shopping for a laptop, so I can FINALLY have data while on the road. While I've got plenty of experience with home machines, I really don't know what's hot and what's not in the laptop world. Could anyone stir me in a good direction? With all the options out there, it's hard for me to decide on a brand. I don't need a lot of bells and whistles on it - just something reliable (Sony? HP?) and has integrated 802.11b/g wireless (and NO wide screen, bleh).

I appreciate any suggestions!

Thanks,
Scott

I have an HP I bought back in 2000 and it has been through hell but it is still working well. It even has a small crack on the bottom left corner of the LCD screen casing. The monitor started to wig out for a while becuase of it but my good freind Bill fixed that for me. So just from experiance and nothing else I would say HP is good.

I would like to get a Sony Vaio Laptop some day but they are way out of my price range. I have a Sony Vaio for my desktop but that was cheap compared to the laptops.

Mick

I also bought an HP with built in wireless last year and love it. it automatically detects wireless signals and connects (security permitting). I used a number of "hotspots' last year including a refinery I was driving by in Oklahoma and a home signal in nebraska. Just driving by and detected and connected.

it is a 2.4 mhz with 768RAM and 40gb drive. i got it for just under $900 after rebate at Office Depot. It has 3 USB ports for GPS etc...

I have owned Toshiba and Fujitsu previously and this is by far the best I have had.

Originally posted by Jay McCoy
it is a 2.4 mhz with 768RAM and 40gb drive.

Isn't it amazing how fast technology changes. My HP (bought in 2000) is only 550mhz and I just now upgraded from 64mb RAM to a wopping 128mb RAM. 550mhz to 2.4+ mhz in just a few years.

Mick

Originally posted by Mickey Ptak+--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Mickey Ptak)</div>
<!--QuoteBegin-Jay McCoy