• A friendly and periodic reminder of the rules we use for fostering high SNR and quality conversation and interaction at Stormtrack: Forum rules

P.S. - Nothing specific happened to prompt this message! No one is in trouble, there are no flame wars in effect, nor any inappropriate conversation ongoing. This is being posted sitewide as a casual refresher.

I want to learn... but don't know where to start.

Matthew Reis

Enthusiast
I'm still very new to the storm chasing hobby and I need to educate myself more on the weather... but I'm not sure where to begin. I've been to a spotter class given by my local NWS WFO and I've picked up bits and pieces of information on the internet. But I need something more solid. I want to learn how to make my own forecasts, how to use the various weather models I've heard of, how to read a Skew-T, how to pick a target area... you get the idea! So how should I go about this? Where do I start?

Hi Matthew,
If you haven't already, you should follow all the links that are on this site. The 'WxLibrary' tab at the top of this page has a long list of educational resources that go into a lot of the things you are asking about. Just start reading, you can never read too much! I don't know if it is still in print, but the 'Storm Chaser's Handbook' byTim Vasquez is an excellent all-around intro to chasing, even if it is out of print im sure you can find it on Amazon or ebay. You should also pick up a good all-around book on meteorology; I can't recommend something of the top of my head but if there is a university/college near you that has a meteorology department, or even earth sciences, that would be a great place to pay a visit ;) Good luck!

With everything else posted, there's also meted.ucar.edu that I really like. Computer based training for just about everything.
I also had 'Severe Storm Forecasting' by Tim Vasquez as well. Few typos here and there but a ton of info