• A friendly and periodic reminder of the rules we use for fostering high SNR and quality conversation and interaction at Stormtrack: Forum rules

P.S. - Nothing specific happened to prompt this message! No one is in trouble, there are no flame wars in effect, nor any inappropriate conversation ongoing. This is being posted sitewide as a casual refresher.

Noob Chase Tour Leader - Taking Movie Crew Storm Chasing - NEED HELP FAST!

A movie crew from another country reached out to me asking me to take them storm chasing for a week. Their goal is to capture a tornado within that week. While I certainly can't guarantee a tornado, and I've never hosted a tour group before, the thought of taking a film crew out to capture footage is interesting to me.

We'll have to negotiate quickly of course, as they plan to start filming in about 5 weeks. And while I have a lot of experience storm chasing and am confident I can find a tornado should one pop up within 500 miles of me, I don't have any experience taking a team of 8 people and multiple vehicles out. I'm probably getting in way over my head here, but as a risk taker at heart, I like trying new things.

So as a complete noob when it comes to leading a team, I need your help.

(1) How much should I charge them to find a tornado for them? They'll pay all of their expenses, I just need to know how much I should charge. I would want enough to cover all of my expenses, plus extra cash for my time.
(2) What logistical challenges should I be considering?
(3) What legal challenges should I be considering?
(4) Should I get insurance for my company, and if so, what kind of insurance and how much?
(5) What things should be included in the contract to protect me?
(6) How should payment work? Before, after, half upfront, half later?
(7) What conditions should we set in case we don't see a tornado during the week, and they want to continue chasing?
(8) What else am I not thinking about that I should know?