Early May Storms

Brian Press

Hello Fellow ST'ers,

My brothers and I are planning a trip out to the plains May 3rd thru 8th. Any thoghts on this time frame? I am quite new to forecasting and the models are driving me crazy. Any thoghts on early May. Should we stay in So. Cal and wait or do we go?

Post your thoughts here..

Thanx and I love this fourm,

Brian

Hello Brian! Hope things are going well in the earth quack capital... I don't know about anyone else but we, here in the southern plains, are in a very bland upper air pattern for the next several days at least according to the latest GFS run. BUT my good friend it will be May and I have seen things go from crap to great in just a few days. We just can’t seem to get rid of these early April cold fronts that keeps driving our moisture down south. Personally Brian I would wait until the following week or at least until the upper air pattern changes. It just seems when we have moisture we do not have the upper air support and when we have the upper air support we don’t have the moisture.

My .02

Slick Mick

The advantage of that time IMO is that the action would be south for you. My vibes are that the action will be up in the KS, NE, IA, MO, OK area by the time of our own trip later in May. Midland-Odessa, San Angelo, and Abilene are a lot easier for you to get to than Omaha.

I'm no expert, either, for sure, but it looks like the ingredients will be there for a few days of fair dryline storms. Looking at 00Z on the 4th for example at 500Mb you've got about 40kts from 250 -- decent; higher levels are over 50kts from 260 or 270 with mesoscale disturbances riding the flow -- not F5 material but not a show-stopper either; there's 20kts from about 220 at 700Mb -- fair; at 850Mb you have gulf flow that's been around awhile and moderate temps -- check; and at the surface there's a rather sweet gradient off the gulf.