SN / APRS APRS Question

How often do you poll APRS data? I transmit every 10 minutes, but it seems you are polling every hour or more? It's working, it just seems slow. Do you poll faster if I am moving? I am trying to figure out the best method for tracking when I'm chasing/spotting.

If the script is sourced from aprs.fi and hasn't been changed recently, the changes at Google may have wrecked havoc on the stability of that script. That's just a thought on my part, not knowing the inner workings and not being a programmer myself.

That’s a very good point and question indeed. However, as it has been pointed out...data is flowing in, but there seems to be a break in it being distributed to current products (i.e. place files, RadarScope, etc).

That’s a very good point and question indeed. However, as it has been pointed out...data is flowing in, but there seems to be a break in it being distributed to current products (i.e. place files, RadarScope, etc).

That was more along my thought. Bringing data in is typically not hard and Google Maps should not be an issue. It's probably a problem with the data. It could be as simple as a bad character that someone has in their string that the program wasn't designed to handle. So instead of failing elegantly, it just stops until that bad data is gone then it's back to working again.

The more I think about it, the more I think that's the issue.

Last edited:
APRS : There was a post, think on QRZed sometime back, about the network being overloaded.
That's what i think the problem is and my reason for not using it. Just clutter it up more.

Last edited:
APRS? I know Spotter Network has complained about their networks being overloaded and RadarScope users don't normally turn off their tracking (I'm guilty myself). That is why I was trying something different so tracking is only on when I am really spotting or at least watching the weather.