Greetings. I'm looking for a site which will tell me, "Look for a supercell here." Or the next best thing. On a broader level, I suppose my question is, "How do I find and identify ideal weather conditions?" See? I don't even know how to ask the question.

Background. I'm studying a basic metrological course. But my experience level is such that I need even more rudimentary information.

Hey Jim,

In essence, your question is "how do I forecast for severe weather (supercells and tornadoes)? Well... that's the hard part. First, you have to understand how (and to a certain extent why) the atmosphere generates severe weather. The atmosphere is a very complicated place that we don't fully understand. All kinds of big and small changes are taking place in the atmosphere all the time. Understanding how the atmosphere works will help you understand what the atmosphere does and how it interacts and modifies atmospheric ingredients to produce severe weather.

Once you understand the atmospheric processes and what goes into making a supercell--all the big picture processes (synoptic scale) and smaller scale processes (mesoscale)--you can use the tools that forecasters use to look at what the weather has been doing, what it is doing, and what it may do in the future. If you don't understand how and why the atmosphere does what it does, no tools to assess the atmosphere will help you.

College of Dupage has an excellent website with many of these tools (http://weather.cod.edu). Again though, if you don't know what to look for or what you are looking at, you won't be able to use the tools to help you find what you want.

Btw, if you ever find that "look for a (tornadic) supercell here" website, please let us know!