Tethering Cell Phone to Laptop

Joey Ketcham

I'm attempting to tether my cell phone to my laptop to use my phone for internet connection, this is my first attempt at doing so and I'm not really having much luck. I know a few on here have done so successfully so thought I might see if I could get some tips.

I have a Motorola QA30 through Alltel and I have it connected to my laptop using bluetooth. I can't seem to figure out how to get it setup so that it uses the phone as a modem and get it to connect to the internet.

Any tips?

Thanks,

Joey

I got it setup as a modem and it shows up in my network connections, one thing I'm confused about is what to use for username, password and phone # to connect? I would think that using a cell phone would be much like using a datacard, it just connects to a tower like a wireless NIC card does with a WiFi network.

I downloaded software from Alltel's website to use for the tethering, but just can't get it to connect.. it says authenticating and then says remote computer not responding.

I'm guessing this is because I need to subscribe to an actual data plan?

I don't have the data plan unless I am going to be in IA for the month. But w/o the data plan, I can still use my phone to connect to the internet. No problem; but then Alltel will charge you by the minute as if it were a phone call. The data plan isn't necessary to make internet access work. I use a USB cable to tether - not bluetooth. Maybe that is where you can look to troubleshoot. I'm not saying that is the problem, I'm saying it may be part or the primary cause. Do you have the Alltel software for this application? You didn't say...

Yes. There is no free lunch.

But see, I've heard it both ways... I've read some people saying $25 unlimited data, though I didn't see that on Alltel's website, but I also saw a handful of people saying you do not need to buy any data service that you can plug in and go but it just uses your minutes.