So many moderate risks???

I was just curious what everyones opinion was about how many moderate risks we have seen issued so far this season. I mean, its only April 1, and we have had about 5 or 6 days with mod risks issued, is this a heads up for what to come? Or is it just jumping the gun? Also, it seems as if with almost every moderate risk issued there has been a 15% tornado "probability", but very few confirmed tornadoes. I just want to see what everyones thoughts were about this, is SPC over doing it? or are we in for a great season?

Best Wishes

I think the SPC might be overdoing it just a little bit. Or maybe Mother Nature is just underdoing it right now and waiting until I am off in the month of May!!! :lol:

I am relatively new to the world of chasing, this being my fourth year, but it seems like every year since I have been going there have been several days when SPC blows the forecast out of proportion early in the season. Off the top of my head I can think of two years ago when they issued a high risk for Louisiana and there wasn't a single tornado. I got burnt pretty bad last year on the early season Moderate risk in Minnessota. I should have known better than to go that far North that early in the season. I decided to go for the warm front that day instead of the dryline partially because of SPC's wording and there ended up being no tornadoes along the warm front. That one was hard to swallow. I damn near hit Canada. Then to add insult to injury, my windshield wipers quit working that day and I couldn't see in the rain so I had to spend the night up there. I am sure there are other examples that aren't coming to mind right away, but I definetly think there is an annual "jumping of the gun".

Originally posted by Mike Mezeul II