Should You Stop to Render First Aid to Tornado Victims?

If this has been discussed at length elsewhere, feel free to refer me to that thread.

Just wanting to hear some folks' thoughts on whether they should render aid, and if so, how - that is, the best way of doing it without getting in the way of emergency crews, as well as safety considerations, legal considerations (ie. if you have a valid First Aid certificate, can you render aid etc), as well as personal experiences in doing so.

Arriving on the scene of a disaster is obviously very hazardous, so what are some considerations for remaining safe while offering help?

Kyle, great question sir... My situation might be unique as I am an army veteran who has been to Iraq and Afghanistan, and have had training in 2 combat lifesavers courses. The first few minutes involving a trauma victim can be the difference between life and death. Storm chasing is awesome but unfortunately sometimes a tornado hits a populated area and casualties occur. That's when my chasing stops and rendering aid is necessary. I know the professionals are on their way but until then I must do what I can.

First things first, my safety is important. Downed power lines, broken gas lines, fire, and water hazards must be observed. I can't help anyone if I'm electrocuted while standing in a puddle. Broken glass, sharp metal and pieces of wood are also danger items. We call this "situational awareness" in the army. Keep your head on a swivel and be alert/aware of everything in your environment.