Negotiating Hotel Rooms?

Since I'm new to chasing, I'm wondering how to get the best deals for Hotel rooms and how to talk to the desk staff to facilitate this.

I know coming in as a group probably has it's advantages?

Thanks!

Jerry Prsha - St. Louis

Not so much a group, but join a hotel chain's rewards program. I have joined Gold Crown and was upgraded to a Platinum Elite level; I get big discounts on rooms and sometimes upgrades to suites for the price of regular rooms which obviously gets crazy cheap as you can fit a bunch of people into a suite.

We use hotels.com to get rooms if we know in advance where we will be. Usually a good $20-$30 (or more) less per night than if you just walked in. There are lots of hotels you can book online, but some of the smaller ones in the tiny towns aren't listed.

Well, as I am still learning about weather and forecasting, I can't be much help on those threads. However I can help here.

I used to work in a Hotel at the front desk. I had the power to charge any rate I wanted when we were not full. My job was to fill up the hotel, we of course had our regular rates, and people who didn't ask got that rate. The smart ones who did press me paid less. I could average out the cheaper rooms.

I would assume when you are chasing you are most likely in areas that are a little less traveled than major cities. I would look for hotels where the parking lot is empty. Then when you ask the price, tell them you weren't looking to pay that much and give them a price about 30% lower, or even lower if you are brave. If they balk at that ask them what other hotels are in the area. If they are good they won't let you leave.

Hope that helps.

Good day,

Rarely time to plan as you will never know where you will end up on a chase day. For me, Motel 6 / Super 8 is best as I am just there one night to crash and most have internet / data or are nearby such sources.