Lurkers, Target Area, memberships, and Stormtrack

One thing we have been seeing in new user essays are statements like this:

I am an amateur armchair chaser. I will not be posting - only following. I appreciate knowing where the storms are by following through the posts where the professionals are.
Anyhow, I mainly just want to read what people are posting as it relates to Kansas tornadoes and storm chasing. Not that much into posting unless absolutely necessary. Is their a way to just set my username to where I can only read the board ???
I enjoy the site. I like reading and following along although I probably will not ever post anything, at least any time soon. It is fun to see how I might forcast compared to many of the others. Thanks
My house was hit by a tornado about a year ago. I am wanting access to better forecasting info than my local tv provides. I read NOAA and SPC daily. I will not comment on posts, nor will I leave any. I promised my five year old daughter (who was also home when the house was hit) that I would watch the weather and know when the next tornado is coming - so we can be safe in our FEMA approved closet.
I am not a weather professional, but I do LOVE to track weather. I will not be posting but will just log on to read posts.
Needless to say, this seems to be becoming a trend: people joining Stormtrack not with the intention to contribute or connect with the community but just to scavenge the hundreds of quality forecasts that appear on a chase day. We have had some leeway about this as far as membership approvals, thinking that giving the benefit of the doubt would promote education and awareness, but we are now declining such applications.

On a sitewide level, one thing we did this morning is completely remove Forecasts & Nowcasts from public view so that it's not such a magnet. Earlier the thread names but NOT the contents were visible to nonapproved members, but now none of it is available.