Laptop usage/wireless internet

James Gilbert

I'm still new to this chasing thing, and got a new toy for Christmas: a laptop. It's wireless internet ready, I'm just wondering what the best way to utilize this would be. I'm typing this on a dial up connection, so I'm still in the 'stone age' of internet so to speak, so any help or ideas would be cool.
Also, what would be the best way to use this on a chase? Is there any software I should get that would be useful? Thanks everyone!

What do you mean by "wireless internet ready"? My hunch is that you are referring to WiFi, in which case you have two main options. First, you can sign up for a subscription-based service for companies like Wayport, etc. You pay a monthly fee, and you can use their hotspots (e.g. Starbucks, Flying J, etc). The second main option is called "wardriving". Essentially, you drive around until you find an open, unsecure access point (i.e. no WEP key, no WPA/TKIP/etc protection). There are usually several that are accessible, particularly if you are in apartment complexes, etc.

As far as software... There's quite a few that different people use. For radar viewing, you have GRLevel3, StormLab, Storm Predator, and a few more that aren't coming to me right now. Many chasers also use their laptop with GPS. You can buy the DeLorme Earthmate (GPS + Street Atlas) combo for ~$100 at ecost.com occassionaly. Others use Microsoft's GPS USB system, and there are a few other manufacturers out there as well. Combining radar+GPS, there are a few options that'll let you plot both your GPS position and radar, namely Swift WX, and I know that a beta version (only accessible if you buy the regular version first) of GRLevel3 includes GPS plotting on the radar image.

Also, you should check out Tim V's Digital Atmosphere software. You can plot radar, surface obs, upper air obs, etc etc etc. Contouring, advection, divergence, et cetc etc,,, You want to plot it, chances are you can with Digital Atmosphere.