KU Atmospheric Science Program / Meteorology job market

Blake Allen

I was wondering if anyone here has any thoughts on the University of Kansas' atmopheric science program. It seems like I remember seeing that a couple people here are currently students in the program.

I am currently a student at Pittsburg State University, but I have decided that I would like to go into atmospheric science, and I figure my best option (or only option, considering I'd be paying out of state tuition to go to some place like OU) for majoring in meteorology is to eventually transfer to KU. I've got an option of either just taking some more of my basic math / science classes at PSU and then transfering to KU, or going through a 3 year / 2 year coop program PSU has with KU where I would go to PSU for 3 years and then to KU for two years and end up with degrees in atmospheric science and physics. I'm not sure which of those options I would like to go with; I don't know how much value a BS in physics really has, and I imagine it would be easier to just go for the degree in atmospheric science.

Also, for any of you that work as meteorologists, what is the job market like? How hard is it to get a job in the field for someone coming out of college?
If I go ahead and follow this path, I don't want to get out of school with a fairly specialized degree and find there are hardly any jobs in the field...

Thanks for any info,
Blake Allen

That was my fear back in the 1980s, and I realize in hindsight it was kind of foolish. I think that in meteorology if you're talented, ambitious, and keep up with the latest in the field (and maintain good professional/academic contacts!), you'll likely have no problems getting a good job. You may also want to (1) plan to stay in and get your MS, and (2) brace yourself for taking a job someplace in North Dakota or Idaho if you plan to go the NWS track. Others I'm sure should be able to elaborate a little further.