• A friendly and periodic reminder of the rules we use for fostering high SNR and quality conversation and interaction at Stormtrack: Forum rules

P.S. - Nothing specific happened to prompt this message! No one is in trouble, there are no flame wars in effect, nor any inappropriate conversation ongoing. This is being posted sitewide as a casual refresher.

FAQ: Chasing the Southwestern Monsoon

Hi everybody, by request I have written this in response to the many questions I receive to give an idea of what it is like to chase the Arizona Monsoon.

In this thread, I will address the Arizona portion of the North American Monsoon. This activity flows into Arizona from Mexico and influences the deserts and high country.
<o></o>
I have been chasing this Monsoon for 11 years and since then have fallen in love with the whole experience. So here are my personal FAQs...hope they help! These are personal opinions/experiences. Pls feel free to add yours.

<u1></u1>What is the North American Monsoon?
The NAM is a seasonal wind shift that influences the Southwestern and Western United States. In Arizona, the official Monsoon Season runs from June 15-Sept 30.

Within the Season, thunderstorm activity ranges. Some days there can be no storms, some days isolated cells, and other days large areas of violent, severe weather. The word “monsoon†comes from the Arabic, “mausim†which means “wind shiftâ€. Monsoon tracker:<o></o>
http://www.wrh.noaa.gov/twc/monsoon/monsoon_tracker.php<o>
</o><u1></u1>
What will I chase during Monsoon?<o></o>