Core-Punch Horror Stories

Getting ready for my first 'Oklahoma spring,' I was wondering if any of you have any core-punch horror stories; MONSTER hail etc.

LOL, as I write this, its flurrying here in Norman.

I don't seek out hail, but I did have a pretty scary core punch back when I was a newbie in 1997. I was faced with a decision to drive either due south out of Purcell on I-35, or head southwest on OK 74. I knew there was a large tornado southwest of there, but I couldn't see it because of rain. I had to decide between driving southwest towards it (hoping it might move east of my position as I did) or driving due south where I knew the tornado wasn't at (but risking it moving right at me as I drove south). I opted for plan B, and took the interstate. I drove maybe a mile south, then pulled over when I started seeing the rain clear and cloud chunks became visible. Fortunately for my inexperiencd arse, the tornado had dissipated about a half-mile west of where I was sitting, and the chunks were the leftovers. I went back a few months later and drove down the other option I'd had that day, southwest on OK 74. About a mile down that road, I came upon a 3/4 mile-wide damage path, including a house with the roof completely removed.

Congratulations on your upcoming first S Plains Spring!!!!

After shooting one of many supercells that developed one night over Royal NE (also met Al Moller in a cornfield that night :) the drive around there after dark was a bit weird as the warned-on storms were still out & about in full strength. It was pitch black out there and the winds were crossing directions, very weird feeling for a bit not knowing what was lurking in the dark. Have to admit there was a creep-factor that night.