College Meteorology Programs

Dustin Ward

Hi, everyone. I'm a high school student who is starting to look toward college and I love admiring and learning about the weather. I am interested in learning about Atmospheric Sciences or Meteorology as a major and could not find an abundance of info googling. Then I thought of this website which I had been coming to for a while just reading and thought that y'all would be knowledgeable on the subject. Can you tell me about your experience in college if you got a degree in Meteorology and which colleges have the best Meteorology or Atmospheric Science programs? thanks alot for your time.

I too will be looking soon for a college. Unfortunately, I'm embedded in Michigan. I've read that whole thread and saw no mention of U of Michigan. I know they created the Weather Underground which is widely successful, but does anyone know of the METR program there?

It's faded quite a bit over the past few years, they lost some important members of the staff. VERY much leaning towards research-only. Central Michigan is recommended, and/or Valpo if you can go a little south of the border.

I would also do some research on the American Meteorological Society's website. Google that and surf away. They usually have loads of information on colleges that have the Atmos. degrees. offered.

Well since I was the topic of the linked thread, I will mention that I chose OU and I absolutely love it here. The campus is really neat and it's been a good experience so far. In fact Andrew, I've met quite a few freshmen who are planning on majoring in meteorology who came from Michigan.