• A friendly and periodic reminder of the rules we use for fostering high SNR and quality conversation and interaction at Stormtrack: Forum rules

P.S. - Nothing specific happened to prompt this message! No one is in trouble, there are no flame wars in effect, nor any inappropriate conversation ongoing. This is being posted sitewide as a casual refresher.

2023 - new ST owner - Jeff Duda - meet and greet

Jeff Duda

site owner, PhD
Staff member
Site owner
Supporter
Hello, Stormtrack!

I am honored to have been selected to lead this site. I figure it might be nice if I shared my background so that the community is familiar with the person who runs the forum.

I was born and raised in Iowa, in the town of Marion (near Cedar Rapids). I graduated from high school in 2003 and attended the University of Iowa (2003-2006), Iowa State University (2006-2011), and the University of Oklahoma (2011-2016). I am a big fan of the Iowa Hawkeyes, which is the main reason I elected to attend UI (I marched in the marching band all three years I was there). My academic background is meteorology, but also mathematics. I also did a lot of music stuff, especially at UI.

I grew up watching The Weather Channel in the 1990s and idolized storm chasers at the time. I watched many of the TWC specials on storm chasing and even seriously told people I wanted to be a storm chaser when I grew up. The release of the movie "Twister" was like the pinnacle of my childhood fanaticism with the sport, but it began fading shortly after (I got made fun of a lot for my interest in weather and the movie).