Cell phones

With recent mergers and new rate plan offerings the cell phone climate is changing so I wonder if anyone has any tidbits of wisdom to share regarding ths subject as it relates to chasing.

Cingular has the best plans and phones with good data and software apps- however, there coverage can be very poor in remote areas where Verizon seems to work very well... I bit more expensive but have better rural coverage. I used to work in the industry for Nextel during college... so, with that said. I have Verizon currently because I live in more of a growing rural area... However, I'm switching to Cingular in the summer! Hope the info helps.

I was an ATT sub and just ordered a new phone from Cingular, the Samsung Samsung X427M. I noticed how much better Cingular's plans were and figured it was a great time to get rid of the land-line in the apartment, which is draining me $40 per month for no reason.

I had been hanging onto my ancient Nokia 6160 because of the Ositech/Nokia/ATT cellular modem setup that was popular among chasers for a few years. But that phone is on the old TDMA network and my coverage is bad, compared to friends with newer phones on better protocols. Between XM and wifi, I should be fine for chasing data.

I also ordered the Data Connection kit for the Samsung phone. Anybody have experience with this? I thought it might be worth a try as it was only an extra $35. I figure if it sucks, I'll cancel the data portion of the plan.

I also ordered the Data Connection kit for the Samsung phone. Anybody have experience with this? I thought it might be worth a try as it was only an extra $35. I figure if it sucks, I'll cancel the data portion of the plan.

Amos, I was also on an older Nokia with ATT. It had a color screen and I could download pictures from the internet, but there was no way to zoom them or transfer them to the laptop.