3/29/05 FCST : Plains

Looks like the Plains are in for a beating come next Tuesday. I did some looking on the long range on the GFS and it looks like a major storm is coming in. Temps are predicted to be around 65 degrees for most of eastern Kansas with Td's coming into the 60's in the same area. This is my first attempt to make a target area post for a date that is far in advance, I'm still a freshman meteorology student, so correct me if I am wrong!

I also noticed the KC/Pleasant Hill NWS HWO mention this in their outlook for Tuesday:

UPDATED PORTION...BY MID WEEK NEXT WEEK...A PATTERN CHANGE SHOULD BE
TAKING PLACE THAT MAY RESULT IN A MORE WIDESPREAD OUTBREAK OF SEVERE
WEATHER. WITH THE TIMING AND EXACT TRACK OF THIS SYSTEM STILL VERY
UNCERTAIN...

Tuesday is still a long way off, but it is looking good so far. Here is a quote from Wichita NWS,
IF WE CAN GET DECENT MOISTURE RETURN INTO THE PLAINS TUESDAY
AND THE BIG ASSUMPTION THAT THE ECMWF IS GOING TO PAN OUT, TUESDAY
COULD BE AN INTERESTING DAY.

The big problem with this low will again be meager surface moisture. With 30-40kt northwesterly flow across the Gulf on the heels of this weekend's low, it's going to be dang tough to get any significant moisture into the Plains, even modified continental air, much less true tropical air. The kinematics look just fine, but the thermodynamics are going to be difficult to get in order (which isn't uncommon for this time of year)...

I glanced at the GFS for this posted date just now. I don't like what I see with the models showing no real low-level focus in the form of a low.

The moisture looks hosed for this time period - with a dirty big anticylone over the northern Gulf sure to send the moisture return screwy if it verifies. It has dewpoints in the low 50s progged for the norhtern Gulf by 0Z Wed 30th.