1965 Palm Sunday Outbreak: Some Thoughts

There is something about historic tornadoes that, for me at least, sets them apart emotionally. Perhaps it's the black-and-white photos, which give their subjects an eerie, otherworldly appearance. Perhaps it's the thought of what it is that makes the storms historic. People died--lots of people. Then again, part of it may lie in knowing that some of these events played out in my own regional backyard. The 1974 Superoutbreak occurred the year I graduated from high school, and I remember seeing a woodlot of splintered treetops as I was hitchhiking past Monticello, Indiana.

And then there were the Palm Sunday tornadoes of April 11, 1965....

The Palm Sunday event has had a strange hold on me since my childhood. Living in Niles, Michigan, the tornadoes bypassed our area, but not by much. I remember a hot, windy day...relatives visiting from Chicago...tornado warnings on the television...the South Bend Tribune and Niles Daily Star filled with news the next day of the disaster...and, on a drive into the Elkhart, Indiana, area a few days later, a scene of devastation that left a lasting impression on my eight-year-old mind.

Yesterday I revisited the small community of Dunlap, just south of Elkhart, where two tornadoes, roughly an hour apart, claimed nearly fifty lives. It was halfway between here and nearby Goshen that Elkhart Truth staff photographer Paul Huffman stopped his car alongside U.S. 33 and snapped a series of photos as the first tornado swept across the fields and into the Midway trailer park. One of those images, depicting twin funnels straddling the highway, became an icon of the outbreak and remains one of the most vivid and horrifying tornado photographs ever taken.

As Huffman joined in rescue operations, another storm moved in from the west, and an even larger, more powerful tornado swept directly through Dunlap, wreaking F5 damage in the Sunnyside division.