When the camera is rolling, shut up!

Joey Ketcham

When the camera is rolling, SHUT UP!

The topic is pretty self explanatory, and I’m not saying this in a hateful way so please do not take offense to it. And this is not directed at any one specific person. I’m just saying this in general.

I was watching the video on cnn.com of the storm chaser who got caught in the tornado in Nebraska and I was very annoyed at how loud this guy was. He was constantly talking and even worse how he was basically celebrating it.

I have just as much love and respect for tornadoes just like any other storm chaser, but I also avoid talking and celebrating it when I have my camera rolling. I do this for a couple reasons.

I’m sure that John Diel and anyone else who has or does work in the media field will know where I’m coming from when I say this.

When I worked as a news videographer for several years, one of the things I learned pretty quickly is that audio is just as important as the video is. Seriously, audio can make or break your shot. When you have a combination of both great video and great audio, it’s like it comes to life... it becomes a 3D experience. If that makes sense.

Take away the audio or add in constant talking and, to me, it just ruins the surreal experience. Seriously, when I watch video I want to hear the nat sound. I want to hear the wind, the sound of the tornado… not someone in the background screaming “YEAHHHHHHH… WOOO HOOOOOO… LOOK AT THAT.. YEAH YEAH.. WOOOOâ€.

Secondly if my video is shown on TV, I certainly don’t want my voice heard in the background yelling with excitement and cheering on the tornado as if I was at a football game.