Whats a good mobile 2M radio and mounting questions for antenna

I am studying on my HAM License and hope to get it before the weather starts to become more active, and I have made a thread before about mobile hand held radios, and now have decided to get a mobile radio instead (looks cooler and would be a good conversation starter on why I have it) and have looked at the ones suggested such as the Yaesu FT 1900R or something similar.

Question 1. What is a great starting radio but also has NWS weather radio capabilities (if possible) at a 100-175 dollar range (FT Student, PT Job)

Question 2. What is a good antenna size, from talking around my area some are using 36" antennas. Are those okay? I do not what a 10' one but something similar or a little longer then a cars radio antenna.

Question 3. I have a 92 Dodge Grand Caravan (SE), where is a good spot to mount an antenna?

Thanks,

Joseph McAllister

I think a mobile radio is better than a handheld radio. More usable power and other features as well. They also make a decent base radio - if you have a power supply and make/build your own base antenna. Part of being a Ham is home brewing stuff like antennas; it is part of the Ham tradition.

The radio choice you made is just fine. Yaesu are still considered the better mfr of radios by many Hams today. Any vehicle is usually enough for any 2 meter radio. Mobile antennas in the 2 meter range aren't 10 ft tall, no more than 4 ft tall. A solid antenna mount is preferred to a magnetic mount in a windy situation - but will work just the same under normal conditions. The center of the roof is best for mounting - but not at all necessary. It will work just fine mounted near the edge of the roof - or even mounted to a luggage rack.

BTW - a 9 ft antenna is used by CB radios because that is a 1/4 wavelength for the 11 meter band. For more info, check out www.worldwidedx.com and learn about radio as much as you like. It's free to join; learn more about the radio as a hobby...