Tornado Size/Shape and F-rating. Any coincidence?

I am just wondering I have been chasing for a few years now here in the Missouri/ Iowa area, and I was wanting to know everyone elses thought on if a Large wedge equals a F3-F5 or if there is no coincidence at all. I have only seen small cone/ rope shaped tornadoes, in which 1 was a F1, the rest were F0.

The size and shape of the tornado's visible condensation funnel is not necessarily an indication of the tornado's strength. In other words - a wedge won't always be a strong/violent tornado, and a rope won't always be a weak tornado. Pampa TX (6/8/1995), Mulvane KS (6/12/2004), and Cedar Park TX (5/27/1997) are some examples of strong/violent tornadoes with relatively narrow condensation funnels, and Stratford TX (5/15/2003) is an example of a weak tornado with a wide condensation funnel. The best way to gauge the intensity of a tornado is by watching how fast the funnel and/or debris rotates.

In general, the larger the tornado, the stronger based on a couple studies including the one linked above. Keep in mind that larger tornadoes will have the ability to hit more structures and therefore will tend to earn an F-rating more in line with the actual intensity. Smaller torandoes are nothing to sneeze at. The rope stage of a tornado can actually be very intense, owing to angular momentum. The old fulling the arms figure skater cliche.

Isn't the Fujita scale variable for any given tornado? I often hear that a particular storm produced an F-3 or F-5, but I would think a tornado starts out at F0 and progresses up the scale and possibly regresses, or varies in strength over time and distance. I guess what I'm trying to ask is if severity of a storm, or the Fujita rating can vary depending on location? If this is the case, then we can't necessairly get the big picture if investigators only base their ratings on the most heavily damaged areas/neighborhoods.