Sony Digital 8 vs Panasonic PV-GS120

I've been running a Sony TRV-310 Digital 8 camcorder since 2000 and it's done pretty well. I was looking for something that would do a little better in low light situations, aka chasing here in Illinois. ;) It's 2005 and I figured it was time for an upgrade, at least one I could afford. In doing some research, it appears they (the camcorder folks) have decided to make these camcorders as small as possible. Now my dream camcorder is the Sony 2100, which I'll probably never get close in being able to afford one.

Anywho, I was somewhat drawn to the Panasonic 3ccd camcorders that were amazingly under $1000. I've always been a Sony fan myself, but figured if Panasonic had a decent 3ccd camcorder I'd take a look at it. After researching some more, I decided on the Panasonic PV-GS120. I wanted to save some $$$, so I ordered online.

It arrived yesterday and my first impression was how small it was. However cute it looked, I knew this could cause some problems. I plugged it in and my first fears came true about the small size causing problems. The image was shaking due to the lightweight of it and the build in EIS was absolutely no help. I could ignore that as long as the image quality was good. The only way to really find out was to compare it side by side to my Sony TRV310 digital 8.

I pointed both cameras at the same object in the room and hooked them both up to the TV as to not judge by the LCD screens. I could not believe my eyes and I had to trace the wires several times to make sure which image I was seeing. The Digital 8 was not only brighter/less grainy but had better color than the 3ccd panasonic! Something had to be set wrong, there's no way this could be. I dug through the manual and began adjusting manual settings and despite all my efforts, I could not match the digital 8.