Scheduling the chase ?

I have 5 weeks of vacation that I can schedule for storm chasing.

I have about 3 years of experience doing this and I have:

1. Gone out sometimes when perhaps I could have stayed home.
  2. Missed some early action because I thought I could afford to wait for the "real" season.
  3. Stayed on the plains and chased marginal setups when I could have just gone birdwatching, or drove into the mountains or something.
In those three years I have not:
  1. Chased the fabled caprock or the panhandle of texas.
  2. Caught a massive outbreak.
So this year I have five weeks of vacation, perhaps six but that last week I might want to save for the holiday season in the winter.

I will be leaving out of Ohio. My plan anymore is something along the lines of what Dan Robinson did this year. Schedule the chase but if there is no good reason to head out then do not. For example this year I had vacation in May but unless I saw a two day stretch of decent chasing I stayed home. So for last year that meant I stayed home. Start the trip with a bang or do not start it all.

I am tempted to do the following as way of hedging my bets.

I will block out the last three weeks of May. I have other activities on Memorial day, so that gives me those last three weeks, more or less.

What about the other two weeks? Well I am thinking of scheduling two weeks off in the middle or end of April. This might give me a chance to catch some early action and early action might be all that we get? Five weeks at one time is a long time.

What do you all think ? Two little vacations of 2 and 3 weeks or one big one of 5 weeks? It would be two weeks of chase, two or three weeks of work and then 3 weeks of chase.

When does the Texas Panhandle get sucked into a vortex each year ? Is that a march, april or may event ?

Any thoughts and advice is appreciated.