Quick NetStumbler Question

Alright...got this HP up and running...finally getting everything where I want it, but one new problem i discovered today. I've downloaded NetStumbler to help me find "networks", but my windows wireless utility cant configure them to get on the internet. It says something about starting the Wireless Zero Cofiguration service, but i have NO IDEA what this is. HAH :blink: Just wondering what exactly this all means and how i can just get this ole thing to just log on to an unlocked network.
Thanks to all
Nick

P.S> I had multiple "pings" of different unloaked networks at one time, but none would allow me to use them.

IIRC you can't run Netstumbler and the XP config at the same time.
[/b]

Alrighty Thanks but how do i get NetStumbler to connect to one of these unlocked networks?
I apoligize...im just trying to find out a bit of intel here since im new to the whole WIFI thing. (Been using dial up too long :huh: )

This is a very interesting site, with a forum that answers many questions about Wi-Fi antennas, etc.: the Bluebox.

I got one of these and have tested it at home, but didn't take it on the road this brief season, so I can't really speak to its effectiveness for chasing. However it is very, shall-I-say, full-featured. Among other things, it can scan and connect automatically to the best open signal. It connects through the computer's Ethernet port, so you can flip pretty easily between it and your other Wi-Fi.

The inventor asserts that his experience shows the built-in WRT54G antennas represent about the best compromise of range vs. directionality, though you can use others if you want.

If you run XP, you don't actually need Boingo or any other program to effectively find and connect to wireless networks. Use the Wireless network configuration utility and simply refresh the list when you want to find a network.