Problem with export to tape via firewire

Dan Robinson

I'm having a problem that I thought someone here might have encountered before.

I'm trying to export full-screen DV AVI video from the computer back to MiniDV tape via Firewire. I'm using Premeire and exporting to a TRV900 MiniDV cam. At random intervals, anywhere from every few minutes to a few seconds, the video and audio freezes up momentarily during export, as if another program is running in the background and hogging CPU.

The strange thing about this is that I have been doing this for all of three years with no problems, and now all of a sudden I'm seeing this freezing issue.

Here are the puzzling details:

- The problem happens on BOTH of my computers, 2.4Ghz laptop and 1.2Ghz desktop.

- No new software has been installed on either machine.

- Premiere is only using 35% of the CPU during the export when the freezing happens.

- Premiere is set to 'play back video on DV hardware only', not on the desktop.

- I notice the problem happens more with frequent lightning video (with rapidly alternating bright/dark frames), but it happens with non-lightning video from time to time.

- The problem happens both when recording to a MiniDV tape or doing a 'pass through' to a VCR.

Thanks for any info anyone can provide!

I also had this problem as well, and Dan, I do NOT have a solution for this either... I was exporting to a Sony D8 Handicam. Like him, I had issues with the audio and video locking up. I, too, wish to know the magic to this. Using Premiere 7.

This almost sounds like a memory buffer clearing out causing the momentary lock up. If you're using Win XP you might try clearing out the tasks running in background. Of course doing a defrag won't hurt either.

I know that Micro$ just sent out another security patch recently and this could also be the issue.