One last bit of reorganizing

Thomas Loades

There was a time when I came to this site with real enthusiasm. I thought this place was so cool, so interesting, so . . . well, I forget the rest. It's been a while since I felt that way. Right now: at best, I'm indifferent. At worst, I hate it here. So, I'm leaving. I just can't stand it here any more.

Now, this has nothing to do with the x2ing of the board or anything — having a place like this is a good thing, for some, anyway. The thing is, the problems come from people's attitudes, the last thing that would change. It's never going to go away; so how long till the next boil-over?

Firstly, it's really obvious that I'm not welcome here anymore. It never used to matter — otherwise I wouldn't have joined — but now every second post is how this is a place for CHASERS. I'm a college student doing meteorology, but I haven't gone on a real chase, don't have photos, videos, a vast cache of equipment, a vehicle — hell, I don't even have a driver's licence. I guess all I have is almost 600 posts of noise. So maybe people who are only college met majors shouldn't be admitted now. I don't know. But the only reason people like me come here is because there isn't any other board like this, that has such a wide spectrum of experience and knowledge. Do remember that. It's easy to take that for granted.

Anyway, I can understand how people want to "go back to the roots," but if you're making a fuss about who should be here now, will it stop? Where?
It will end up alienating more than just the undesirable "enthusiasts" and newbies if you have to call limits on what constitues a chaser. And then what happens if noise becomes a problem again? You may very well end up right back at the "core" from the last board — and they will be all.