Newbie Here!

TonyLunn

Hellos All!

For Christmas, I am getting a wireless Davis Vantage Pro2 weather station. I also plan to order the Weatherlink software for USB connection. Following are my concerns:

1- I plan to attach the sensor suite to the side of our chimney. Once attached, the sensors will be positioned approximately 2 feet above the chimney top. I am assuming this would be a satisfactory, if not great, location for the sensors. Any feedback would be appreciated ............. especially those who have done this or know of others who have done this.

2- I have read where some individuals have had problems with the USB connected software. Are there any individuals here at Stormtrack who have the USB connected software and have had good results? Surely, Davis wouldn't continue to sell the USB version if it has serious flaws ......... correct??????

Thanks in advance for helping!

TV

1- I plan to attach the sensor suite to the side of our chimney. Once attached, the sensors will be positioned approximately 2 feet above the chimney top. I am assuming this would be a satisfactory, if not great, location for the sensors. Any feedback would be appreciated ............. especially those who have done this or know of others who have done this.

The closest to ASOS-type heights and distances, the better... Especially if you plan on sharing the data. You'll want to research that.

-John

Ideally you want your temperature gauge at 2m and the anemometer at 10m. This is ideal and the closer you can get to these heights the better.

I have a Davis Vantage Pro connected via USB with no problems.

Besides what has been mentioned, you will undoubtedly get some inadequate temperature reading from the chimney/flue (ie..heat source). It is extremely important to have those units located away from anything that can be obstructed. You'd better off placing it somewhere else on the roof..