• A friendly and periodic reminder of the rules we use for fostering high SNR and quality conversation and interaction at Stormtrack: Forum rules

P.S. - Nothing specific happened to prompt this message! No one is in trouble, there are no flame wars in effect, nor any inappropriate conversation ongoing. This is being posted sitewide as a casual refresher.

SN Need help regarding bad report

R Lopez

Enthusiast
Hello,
I recently made a report of flooding of 3.5 inches, which was marked as a bad report due to the supposed flood criteria being 4 inches. I am very new to spotter network, and was never given any indication that 4 inches was the minimum required depth for flooding. I even checked before making the report under reporting guidelines, and based on that, my report should have been acceptable as it states a minimum depth of 2 inches. Supposedly it stated that the updates requirement was 4 inches per the latest newsletter, though I am confused as to why this wasn’t directed to me before making the report, or at the very least updating the reporting guidelines. I’ve only been on the site for a few weeks and it’s just a bit frustrating that I’ve already got bad report votes on my report, as I don’t think I could have known. There didn’t seem to be anything mentioning that I had to check the past newsletters (I don’t even know how often these occur), so just wish that could have been brought to my attention sooner. Is there anything I can do about it, and are there any other guidelines which have not been updated under “reporting guidelines” that I should be aware of?C752EA3E-6489-459E-A247-920E87902183.jpegD0A2FE53-7EF2-4E7D-B3DF-B06DEC9BE48A.jpeg

I wouldn't worry about it. One bad report (especially from a new spotter) shouldn't cause you any admin punishment or penalties. I suggest you should look at it more as a correction for future reporting.