First chase... Wow!

mrcansell

[This could probably go in the target area forum, but I don't have posting permission there, and in my current state of newbie-ness wouldn't really be able to add much of value.]

I'm still a newbie when it comes to storm chasing and weather observation, but was able to get my first chase in on Sunday (7/3) as strong storms moved across the Sedgewick Country area of Kansas. I had checked the Wichita radar using Stormlab about 5:30pm on Sunday (7/3) and noticed a strong storm approaching. The TV weathermen were warning the populace to take shelter, so we grabbed our cameras and annenometer and headed out.

As we drove towards Colwich, we stopped for a moment and got a couple of shots of the mesocyclone (correct word? I'm still a noob at weather) over the Colwich area.

20050703_colwich_meso.png

While we were stopped, we were passed by a blue and silver minivan with a ham license plate and a couple of antennae. Another Stormtrack reader, perhaps? We continued on into Colwich where we stopped to watch for rotation. After a moment, we saw some definite strong rotation. After a couple of minutes, the wind kicked up hard and a lot of tree debris started blowing around. Self preservation took over, and we moved on, back to the east. After a mile or two, we paused to look back to Colwich. At that time the reporters on the radio were saying that a tornado had been sighted over Colwich. Maybe if we had hung around another ten minutes we would have seen a tornado.