Advice for First Time Chasers in the US Plains

(Apologies if this topic has been addressed at length elsewhere and I have missed it - if so, please refer me to the appropriate thread.)

I post this not so much because I am entirely unaware of what chasing is like in the US Plains, but so that seasoned veterans could possibly weigh in on what a person should expect about chasing there who hasn't before. I have been chasing on and off in Alberta, Canada since 2001, so I would consider myself an experienced chaser in a local sense, and I also have a good base of meteorological knowledge for forecasting severe weather in terms of choosing chase targets. Chasing in Alberta would presumably be like high plains chasing in the states, with great visibility for viewing our many occurrences of LP supercells, large hail, generally higher-based storms, and therefore infrequent tornadoes. Some are supercellular, but many are landspouts.

The common things we hear in Canada (and particularly Alberta) about Plains chasing are:
- Storms are generally more intense due to better ingredients (ie. far more low level moisture availability, the EML, etc), and therefore tornadoes are more frequent (with a higher number of strong and violent tornadoes)...though you're still not guaranteed to see one
- Chaser convergences are much worse due to the far greater amount of folks out there chasing (some knowledgeable, some not so much), and therefore driving conditions can be far more dangerous
- Be careful where you eat and sleep, as many small town hotels/motels are filthy and infested with bed bugs, and a bad choice of food from a questionable source could see you laid out sick for days

It sounds exciting, but the above could make some apprehensive. To what extent are these (and other considerations) true? What would you say to chaser with experience elsewhere coming to the Plains for the first time?