01/16/2006 FCST: North Texas

Anyone care to comment on the severe storm potential for Monday in N. Texas?

I'm really new to this forecasting stuff, but the ETA model seems to suggest that Monday could be interesting.

Thanks in advance.

brianb
N5ACN

The 0z NAM doesn't show much in the way of severe potential north of a Dallas to Paris line, with the cold front progged to be along a Dallas to Joplin MO line by 1pm. With Tds in the 58-62F range, instability isn't forecast to be much better than marginal, even in SE TX and adjacent areas. Convection does seem like a good bet in eastern TX (primarily southeastern TX) and into southern AR and LA as a strong, high-amplitude longwave trough approaches from the west, resulting in strong DPVA and associated upward vertical motion.

As a disclaimer, the models differ in how the trough will develop. The 0z NAM cuts it off and puts a cut-off low along the Mexican / NM border, while the GFS keeps the trough open and slowly pushes it eastward across the central US. Regardless, it does appear that much of TX could see substantial precipitation in the Mon-Tues timeframe. Hopefully, the cold front won't progress as far south as models currently prog, as OK could certainly use some of that precip!

Thanks to both of you.

As an 'extreme novice', seeing your thinking on comparing the models and how you as individuals analyze the data is very beneficial.

I'd love to see a nice 'rare event' first of the week, but will certainly be happy with some much needed precip.

brianb
N54ACN

You should also look at the Euro and Canadian models too... They have been performing better than the US models, at least in the +72HR frame. ECMWF and UKMET keep more of a closed system, while the GFS is a bit more open. The NAM is the only model showing the system cutting off and retrograding. As of now, I would completely throw it out.