Yaesu VX-7R handheld

I am wondering if anyone here owns the Yaesu VX-7R handheld. What are your thoughts on it?

I am new to the ham radio world, got my license back in Feb. I was looking at this radio and so far I am interested in it. There's no rush though, I won't be buying anything until after saving up for my chasecation. I just don't know what kind of handheld to get. I would like dual band at least with VHF and UHF. I was also thinking of getting some type of mag-mount antenna that will do okay for going mobile.

I am wondering if anyone here owns the Yaesu VX-7R handheld. What are your thoughts on it?

I am new to the ham radio world, got my license back in Feb. I was looking at this radio and so far I am interested in it. There's no rush though, I won't be buying anything until after saving up for my chasecation. I just don't know what kind of handheld to get. I would like dual band at least with VHF and UHF. I was also thinking of getting some type of mag-mount antenna that will do okay for going mobile.
[/b]

Hi Laura,

I don't own the VX-7R but I strongly considered it when I went to upgrade one of my handhelds. I actually settled on the FT-60R (dual band, 5W) which suited my needs a bit better and seemed to have a stronger opinion among hams I spoke to about it (not to mention a lot lower price). I'm not sure if the 6m coverage of the VX-7R is really worth the extra cost, especially for chasing use. If you like the small size of the VX series better than the FT's then you may want to look at the VX-6R - the same basic features but dual band(and cheaper).