• A friendly and periodic reminder of the rules we use for fostering high SNR and quality conversation and interaction at Stormtrack: Forum rules

P.S. - Nothing specific happened to prompt this message! No one is in trouble, there are no flame wars in effect, nor any inappropriate conversation ongoing. This is being posted sitewide as a casual refresher.

HAM Radio Upgrade

I recently passed a General-class HAM radio license exam. I'm a newbie HAM radio operator (callsign is N5PKR). I picked up a cheap Baofeng GT-5R and a Diamond antenna just to get on the air, plus I'm dabbling in EchoLink. Eventually, I need to invest in another rig or two. I need equipment that can do HF, VHF/UHF. I'll heavily use my HAM gear for severe weather purposes, but I may also interact with local clubs, plus I'd like the ability to interact with people around the world. I'm in the process of joining my local clubs, joined the online club that administered my exams (Aurora), and I joined the ARRL. I have the ARRL Operating Manual, Handbook, Antenna Book, Grounding Book, Digital Modes Book, and Storm Spotters Book.

What would be a good rig or rigs to invest in for my purposes? I've heard the Icom IC-7300 is a popular model for HF. I see Midland also offers an affordable VHF/UHF rig. Also, what do I need to look for in an antenna, and what grounding would I need for it? I do have a mounting tripod in my backyard my Davis Vantage Pro 2 is mounted on with a ground rod into the ground next to it. I have a wire drop for the Vantage Pro 2 (when I had a cabled model) that I could also use for the antenna feed line.

I'll probably order from DX Engineering when I go for it.

Thanks!