What do I need?

Ok. I have been chasing for a few odd years now, and have only had a cell phone, and my eyes to guide me to the storms. This year, I will have a laptop computer to add to my arsenal. The thing is, what else will I need be able to use my radar program? I am not a techie, and I don't know what all I will need. My cell phone is Alltel. Is there anyway that I can hook up my cell phone through my laptop? Basically I am just trying to get it so that GR3 will work on my laptop in a mobile setting. If anyone knows or has any ideas any help would be appreciated as I am trying to get set up for this season!

I will probably set that up as well, If I can get data for my laptop. The area that I live in only has 2 cell providers, none of which I can get data from. (I take that back, Alltel does have a plan, it looks like, but where I live would be roaming at .02/Kb) plus the regular rate.

A bit expensive starting out, but if you can invest in the Mobile Threat Net System. The hardware I think cost like $900 or so, the monthly service is $100/mo, but you can stop it and go as needed - no contract.

I used this back in 2004, very awesome system.

Does your laptop have wifi capabilities? If it does, than I would download Netstumbler (just google it) learn how to use it and you will have all the data you need for GR3. You will not be able to get data on the move, but will be able to update just about anywhere. If it doesn’t, look at adding a wifi card, they’re pretty reasonable. If you want data on the fly, you’ll need a cell connection (see other on going threads) or something similar to Threatnet

Originally posted by jketcham
A bit expensive starting out, but if you can invest in the Mobile Threat Net System. The hardware I think cost like $900 or so, the monthly service is $100/mo, but you can stop it and go as needed - no contract.

I used this back in 2004, very awesome system.

I think the $50/mo aviation package is just as good for chasing.