What Am I Listening To?! Aircraft Weather Radio?!

I happen to own a Grundig shortwave radio. At about 3.4 mhz, there is a BARELY audible male voice, which repeats the following, which I will try to paraphrase:

Temperature, three-two. Altimeter-Zero-three-niner, visibility four zero...

It almost sounds like a form of weather radio designed for pilots. Can anyone here tell me what it is??

:shock: :? :shock:

I'm a pilot but it's been a long time since I was flying. However as I recall VOR's and Vortacs (which I assume are still in existance) would transmit some of this data. Individual airports do as well. I don't recall the frequency though.

Originally posted by Bill Tabor
I'm a pilot but it's been a long time since I was flying. However as I recall VOR's and Vortacs (which I assume are still in existance) would transmit some of this data. Individual airports do as well. I don't recall the frequency though.

I assume the "three-two" figure is Celsius, since it's in the upper 90s here (Newark, NJ got up to 102 F.)

It's similar to a weather radio broadcast in that it repeats the data: temperature, altimeter readings, visibility. It was VERY hard to make out, though. :?

Many airports broadcast the ASOS/AWOS observations, although they are broadcast around 125 MHz. What is broadcast is generally the same or similar to what you'd hear is when you call up the ASOS via telephone. To look up frequencies for airports, go to http://www.airnav.com. To call an ASOS, dial 1-877-ANY-AWOS.

Ben

Hmmm....

Bill, a Google search says Vortacs broadcast at 122.2 mhz. And from what I've just read about VORs, that doesn't seem like what I'm describing.

Interesting.

Originally posted by Ben Cotton