Upgrading to a New DSLR... Thoughts?

Hey gang,

I'm in a bit of a camera conundrum at the moment. Let me explain...

I'm a photography student, currently working on my B.A. degree at the Art Institute of Colorado, as well as a part time professional photographer, and recently I've realized that if I want to be competitive in the industry, I've got to keep up with the technology, and the time is drawing near for me to upgrade from my trusty but technologically outdated Nikon D200 to a better camera. I've consulted my professors, and they told me that in the photography industry, either you keep up or you get left behind, and there's no in between. It's still a great camera, and it works perfectly fine, but now I just need something better.
But what to upgrade to? There is where my problem lies...:confused:

I've shot with Nikon cameras since 2005 - my first DSLR was a 6.1 megapixel D70s, which I recieved as a 16th birthday present in December of 2005. I shot with that camera for a year and a half, and was planning on using it longer, but I got a once in a lifetime deal on my 10.2 megapixel D200 from an ex-professional photographer who was a friend of mine, so I upgraded to that D200 in May of 2007 and relegated the D70s to backup camera status.

I've been extremely pleased overall with my Nikons, and when the thought first crossed my mind, my original thought that since I have so much invested in Nikon lenses and equipment already, that I would just step up to the full frame, 12.1 megapixel D700 body.
But then the $3k pricetag hit me full force, and I choked.
I'll have $60k in student loans by the time I finish my B.A. degree, so the prospect of getting even deeper into debt is not exactly appealing to me.