Storm Tracking in Michigan

Coll Metcalfe

Enthusiast
Hello StormTracker Community...My name's Coll and I'm a producer on a Discovery Channel series and I was hoping for some guidance. I'm interested in chasing storms that roll off Lake Michigan and move across the state. What I am trying to do is illustratively explain how the lake can amplify weather. What better place to ask than this...Thanks for any advice/guidance/help you all can give.

Awesome website by the way...It's priority bookmark!

Well I spent the first 26 years of my life in lower Michigan and can't really say that the lake amplifies the weather, but there is an instance or two of lake breezes causing storms with landspouts and the 1998-05-31 derecho which the lake "amplified" the effects by causing less friction as the line raced across the lake, downing trees in the Muskegon area and causing an apartment building to blow apart in Spring Lake.

A great older thread on the subject. Lake Breeze and severe storms in IL, IN, MI, OH

Here's some insight from living just miles from Lake Michigan for 38 years...Much of this will paraphrase the aforementioned document in lay terms.

Supercells (Lake Breeze)