Rotation in wall clouds

Sarah Berling

I was looking at the Target Area forum for yesterday's information and pictures and I saw a picture that looked a lot like a tornado. The author, however, said that there wasn't any rotation. How can you tell, just by looking at the cloud, if there's any rotation? It sure as heck looked like a tornado to me.

Sarah

I am no expert but the things that I would check is to look at the edges of the cloud and the movement should be in a somewhat horizontal direction if it is a tornado. Also I would suspect that the movement would be fairly noticeable. The edges would normaly appear to be smoother but this may not always be the case.
The cloud in question I suspect was a scud cloud which is caused by rising air condensing as it is pushed or lifted up. This is a slow process and it may be difficult to tell which direction that it is moving without looking at it for a while.

Hope im not too far off base here.

Dennis

Photos can be deceiving that way. You can't spot rotation from looking at a still picture. You may know what a tornado looks like, but less obvious circulations require time spent watching them move to really determine if there's rotation happening.

Tips

Some tips to determine rotation in hard to determine situations

1. If you are not close enough to the circulation/meso, distance may cause you to not be able to ascertain rotation. This would be a "suspicious lowering" type of situation. If it is safe to do so, getting a little closer to confirm rotation would be helpful.

2. The suspect cloud's edges will change -- will not be static. A non-rotating cloud formation will have very little changes with the edges -- or perhaps a slow UPWARD motion. Upward however does not mean definitely indicate rotation - but does indicate the presence of an updraft.