Question about grlevel2 and 3

Taylor Benson

Enthusiast
Hey, "newbie" here. Been chasing 3 or 4 years on the good days I don't have to work. I'm no expert but I've gotten pretty good at being there when it happens if it does happen. My tools for chasing are pretty simple. I use a older cheap tablet to display pykl3 in a cup holder mount and my cell phone to display Google maps for navigation mounted in a weboost cradle on my dash. I use my hotspot on my phone for internet on the tablet. It works for what I wanna do. But would really be nice is if I could display county road maps on top of the radar. It's a pain in the butt trying to zoom in and out on Google maps to find roads while I'm driving and a lot of other little annoyance's with the setup I have but it does work. I'm wondering if grlevel2 or 3 is really worth the money to get if I am just chasing for the thrill of seeing tornadoes or should I just stick with what I'm doing? Also my tablet picked up a real bad itd (internet transmitted disease)at a gas station in Kansas last year. No matter what I do I can't get rid of it and I'm thinking of just getting a new one. Any recommendations on which one to get to run pykl3 or grlevel2 if I decide to try it? Thanks for the help

They are worth the money - and since they both offer free trials just try them both and see which works better for you based on your radar knowledge / ability to interact while chasing / etc.

GRLevel3 is ideal for most chasers. GRLevel2 will use a lot more bandwidth on the road, and also lacks some crucial radar products unless you pay a hefty premium for GR2 Analyst.

Keep in mind that GRLevelX runs on Windows, while PYKL3 is for Android. So no matter which tablet you get, it won't be able to run both apps. Your choice of a new chasing tablet should probably be heavily influenced by which app you prefer and plan to run.