New to Ham Radio

I am just getting into ham radio and am already very confused on what equipment to buy. I have earned a general license and am waiting on a call sign. I also am not a storm chaser yet, but want to be able to use my ham radio that I purchase to chase in a couple of years. Here are some of the things I need from my ham radio:
1. Ideally, I would be able to communicate from coast to coast, but I at least need a range of 150 miles.
2. My price range is anywhere from $0 to $350.
3. I would like to be able to communicate with other chasers and listen to what they have to say.

Any advice or recommendations on what ham radio to buy?

For storm chasing, 2m is the most popular. Most Skywarn repeaters are on 2m and it's also the most popular for simplex. Ham Radio Outlet (HRO) has a 75 watt 2m Yaesu mobile on sale for just $119 (http://www.hamradio.com/detail.cfm?pid=H0-010078) with free shipping. Add a great 5/8 antenna and strong mount with a good ground plane and you can stay within budget. Range is hard to determine because there are so many factors involved, but the setup I'm recommending will give you one of the best mobile ranges available in the budget you have.

I am just getting into ham radio and am already very confused on what equipment to buy. I have earned a general license and am waiting on a call sign. I also am not a storm chaser yet, but want to be able to use my ham radio that I purchase to chase in a couple of years. Here are some of the things I need from my ham radio:
1. Ideally, I would be able to communicate from coast to coast, but I at least need a range of 150 miles.
2. My price range is anywhere from $0 to $350.
3. I would like to be able to communicate with other chasers and listen to what they have to say.

Any advice or recommendations on what ham radio to buy?

First off, not meaning to offend, but if you got your general class license, then you should know what type of ham radio you'd need.

For your needs: